The Expert Advisory Group was established in 2011 to evaluate HIV licensing agreements and provide suggestions for improvements, to ensure greater access to priority medicines in developing countries. We expanded the EAG in October 2016, to include eleven new members with hepatitis C and tuberculosis expertise. The newly constituted EAG now operates in three sub-groups, each focusing on one of our disease areas: HIV, hepatitis C and tuberculosis. Kees de Joncheere, most recently Director of the Essential Medicines and Health Products Department at the World Health Organization (WHO), serves as the EAG’s Vice Chair. The EAG is currently chaired by Maximiliano Santa Cruz of Chile.

The EAG reports on the MPP licences are publicly available as stated in our transparency policy.


Access the EAG Terms of Reference

Notice: Undefined index: location in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 56

Maximiliano Santa Cruz (National Institute of Industrial Property, Chile)


Notice: Undefined index: location in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 56

Kees de Joncheere (Former Director of the Essential Medicines and Health Products Department, WHO, Switzerland)

Vice Chair

HIV Subgroup

Jonathan Berger

Johannesburg Bar, South Africa

Alexandra Calmy

Hopitaux Universitaires de Genève, Switzerland

Nelson Juma Otwoma

National Empowerment Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS (NEPHAK), Kenya

Achal Prabhala

Shuttleworth Foundation Fellow, India

Gracia Violeta Ross

Bolivian Network of Positive People, Bolivia

Carlos Correa

Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina

Nathan Ford

World Health Organization, Switzerland

Hepatitis C/Viral Hepatitis Subgroup

Ellen't Hoen

Medicines Law & Policy/Global Health Unit University Medical Centre Groningen, The Netherlands

Labeeb Abboud

International AIDS Vaccine Initiative, USA

Philippa Easterbrook

World Health Organization, Switzerland

Raquel Peck

The World Hepatitis Alliance, United Kingdom

Isabelle Andrieux-Meyer

Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), Switzerland

Karine Lacombe

Saint-Antoine Hospital (AP-HP), France

Giten Khwairakpam

AmfAR’s TREAT Asia Programme, Thailand

Tuberculosis/Antimicrobial Resistance Subgroup

Jennifer Cohn

Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation (EGPAF), USA

Jan Gheuens

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA

Mayowa Joel

Communication for Development Centre, Nigeria

Christian Lienhardt

World Health Organization, Switzerland

Eun-Joo Min

World Intellectual Property Organization, Republic of Korea

Lita Nelsen

Technology Licensing Office, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Wim Vandevelde

HIV and TB Treatment Advocate, South Africa

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn More